Tags

, , , , , ,

The Great Cookie Experiment – Chocolate Chunk Cookies

This cookie is delicious, but it does something REALLY different with the dough. This is a white chocolate cookie dough. The recipe has you melt white chocolate and stir it in with the butter and the flour and the regular ingredients. Very unique- and really unnecessary.   The truth is, white chocolate isn’t chocolate. It’s mostly butter and cream and sugar, so when you add it to the cookie dough, it doesn’t suddenly taste like white chocolate. It tastes more like you made the cookie dough extra rich. You need to drizzle white chocolate on top to even TASTE the white chocolate. Now, I’m not going to complain about extra rich cookie dough. It made a yummy cookie. It just didn’t make it particularly TASTE different from a regular chocolate chip cookie.

I AM going to complain about buying my chocolate! First, the recipe calls for 6 1-oz squares of white baking chocolate. No problem. I bought a bar of white chocolate in the baking aisle. As I’m making the recipe, I discover that this bar doesn’t HAVE one ounce squares. It had 8 half ounce squares. That’s four ounces. I would have to use a bar and a half to make six ounces. That’s just silly. I used some leftover white almond bark I had in the pantry to drizzle on the cookies. The other problem was buying chocolate chunks. My grocery store doesn’t carry them anymore. Apparently they didn’t sell well enough to keep stocked in stores, so I can’t seem to purchase premade chocolate chunks locally. Yes, I can take a candy bar and chop it into chunks, but I am fundamentally lazy, and chose to just use chocolate chips instead. So understand that there are no actually chocolate chunks in my version of the cookie. It’s regular chocolate chips. And they made it taste just as good, I’m pretty sure.

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

6 squares (1 oz each) white baking chocolate, divided (this product doesn’t exist in my stores out here. Hopefully you can do better)

1 cup butter, softened

½ cup sugar

½ cup brown sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 ½ cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

1 package semisweet chocolate chunks (this product also doesn’t exist in my stores. I used chocolate chips, as mentioned above)

In a microwave melt 3 squares (that’s 3 ounces for those of us who can’t get white chocolate in 1 oz squares) of white chocolate at 70% power for 1 minute. Microwave at 10-20 second intervals as needed to get the white chocolate melted and smooth. Set aside. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs. Beat in melted chocolate and vanilla. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt and gradually add to the creamed mixture. Stir in chocolate chunks. Drop by tablespoons onto ungreased baking sheets and bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes. Cool on wire racks. Melt remaining white chocolate. Drizzle over cooled cookies. Makes about 3 dozen.

