Tags

, , ,

Fettuccine Alfredo

I’m still playing with my pasta maker, and I have learned a few things! First, I have learned to stop trying to incorporate ALL of the flour into the pasta dough. I figured that if it calls for a cup of flour, I should use the whole cup of flour. Not so! You really do want a dough that isn’t so hard it breaks when you try to knead it. Go for a softer dough, and surprise! You get better results. Okay, maybe all of you knew that, but I didn’t. Cooking is a learning process sometimes!

Using a softer dough, I was so pleased with the results for making fettuccine! This was my first time actually cutting the pasta into noodles, and it was beautiful! Because I know the calorie count of Alfredo sauce, I only make this recipe once or twice a year for special occasions- usually Valentine’s Day, but sometimes it’s requested for a birthday dinner. I’ve always purchased fresh pasta from the grocery store- the kind in the sealed pouches in the refrigerator section. Homemade was SO MUCH BETTER. It was worth the work! I love to top it with cooked shrimp to make it extra special

Fettuccine Alfredo

Fettuccine Alfredo

12 oz fettuccine noodles (fresh is best!)

¼ cup butter

1 pint cream

1 cup grated parmesan cheese (freshly grated is a bonus!)

salt and pepper to taste

Cook the noodles, drain, and return to the pan. Add butter, cream, cheese, salt and pepper and stir, cooking on medium heat, until the ingredients are melted and blended in with the noodles. Heat through and serve immediately. Top with extra parmesan, and any meat if desired.

