Tags

, , , , , ,

The Great Cookie Experiment- Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Ah! I love a good oatmeal cookie! Yes, I know it’s made with butter and sugar, but there’s something about adding wholesome ingredients like oats and raisins and nuts that make me FEEL like I might be eating something healthier.   Either way, it’s yummy, and that’s really what matters.

This is the second HUGE batch of cookies that I referred to a few recipes ago. This recipe is designed to make twelve dozen cookies. That is a LOT of cookies. When half of my friends hate walnuts or raisins or coconut that’s a LOT of cookies they won’t touch. Unless you are making cookies for a horde of oatmeal cookie lovers, I recommend you halve the recipe. I’m keeping the recipe amounts as written so that one day you CAN make these for a horde of oatmeal cookie lovers. It could happen!

I wanted to say a word about coconut. I am tired of the sweetened coconut flakes in the store. Don’t get me wrong, they have their place, but I don’t feel like these cookies need added sugar, and I want to find coconut that isn’t coated with extra sugar. I found some packaged by Bob’s Red Mill in the health food section of a store, but I had to look hard for it. I think that’s silly. I think more people would like coconut if they would get rid of the sugar coating on all of it.

Oatmeal Cookies

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

2 cups butter, softened

2 cups brown sugar

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

½ cup water

6 cups oats

2 ½ cups flour

2 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

2 ½ cups raisins

2 cups chocolate chips

1 ½ cups walnuts

1 cup flaked coconut

In a REALLY BIG BOWL, cream the butter and sugar. Add eggs, mixing well. Beat in water and vanilla. Combine oats, flour, salt, cinnamon, and baking soda. Gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well. Stir in raisins, chocolate chips, walnuts, and coconut. Drop by tablespoon on ungreased baking sheets. Bake at 350 12-14 minutes. Makes about 12 ½ dozen.

