Tags

, , , ,

Crock Pot Italian Beef

This year is the Year of the Crock Pot. No, it’s not on any official calendar anywhere, it’s just what we call the year when our congregation meets from 1:00-4:00. We share the building with two other congregations or Wards, and trade off times every year so nobody is stuck with a difficult time every single year. Whenever church is from 1-4 it means there’s no time to cook a REALLY good Sunday dinner, unless you do it in the crock pot. So that’s just what we do! I start it in the morning, and by the time we’re home from church, it’s simple to get dinner on the table! My very favorite crock pot recipe has been one I’ve used for a lot of years. It’s spicy and unique, and I love it on rolls with melted provolone cheese on it. I always keep Italian Dressing mix in my pantry so I’m ready to make a batch when I need to.

crock pot Italian beef

Crock Pot Italian Beef

4-5 lb beef roast

½ cup water

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp onion salt

1 tsp garlic salt

1 tsp basil

1 envelope Good Seasons Italian Salad Dressing Mix (I don’t substitute here. I’ve tried other Italian dressing mixes, and they aren’t as spicy as Good Seasons)

Put roast in the crock pot. Pour all other ingredients over the beef and cook n low all day. Shred beef and return to broth for 15 minutes to thicken. You can add Ultra Gel to thicken it more if needed. Serve on buns or over French Bread and/or a slice of provolone cheese.

