Tags

, , , ,

Strawberry Salad

Springtime means strawberries! There are multiple recipes for strawberry salad out there, and I love them! Most of them!

I have a rule about salads, I’ve decided: only one or two “goodies” per recipe. By “goodie” I mean the bad for you things that take the salad to an extra level of yummy. Things like bacon, candied nuts, fried won tons, chow mein noodles, cheese, chips, you get the idea. I’ve had strawberry salads that were more “goodie” than salad! Cutting back and focusing on the vegetable fruit combination brings the flavors back, and the “goodies” do just what they were meant to do- enhance the flavor and add texture. In this case, there are two goodies- bacon and feta cheese. I would cut it down to just the bacon, but the taste combination of these two really works with the strawberries. You don’t want to cut too many goodies either!

I’m also trying to get rid of so much sugar in salad dressings.   I have some salad dressing recipes that have over a cup of sugar! That’s too much, and could probably be done away with completely. Because this is a sweeter salad, I did find that a little bit of sweetener is nice, so I added honey instead- but just a little!

strawberry salad

Strawberry Salad

Chopped lettuce

Baby Spinach

1-2 cups strawberries

8 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled

½ red onion, chopped

1 cup crumbled feta cheese

Dressing

1 tsp minced garlic

1 teaspoon diced red onion

2 Tbl honey

⅓ cup white vinegar

¼ cup strawberries, chopped

½ cup olive oil

¼ teaspoon salt

1 tablespoons poppyseeds

Combine lettuce, spinach, strawberries, bacon, red onion, and cheese.

To make the dressing, combine all ingredients in the blender, and blend until smooth. Pour over salad, and enjoy! Serves about 4

