Tags

, , , , ,

Bakery Style Thick Sugar Cookies

For me, the perfect restaurant is one that combines yummy food, delicious desserts, and lovely crafts, décor, and gift ideas. This stems from years and years ago when I worked at a bank, and would slip away to a little café called Abercrombie and Maynard. I would eat sandwiches and gelato in the view of gorgeously decorated teddy bears. It’s a girly thing.

Apparently, I’m not the only one who desires these things, considering the popularity of Kneaders bakeries here in Utah. Fresh bread, beautiful salads, thick soups, drool-worthy desserts- it’s a great lunch. THEN they have all the fixings for gift baskets, including seasonal crafts, unique food gifts like syrups and jams. It makes me happy. I once performed as a storyteller there when they unveiled their Christmas goodies, so the chain is even more special because of it.

When I saw this pin of Kneaders sugar cookie recipe-something they apparently shared on a local television show, I was eager to make the cookie! I LOVE those thick fluffy cookies! So yummy!

Was the recipe good? Yes! I was very happy with the results! They were thick and fluffy just as promised! I did an almond glaze instead of lemon, and decorated them pretty for spring. I DID find them to be a little on the dry side- waiting too long to eat them could lead to some crumbling. This is fixable by adding a Tablespoon of Ultra Gel to the mix to keep them a bit more moist.

This is not going to replace my traditional valentine recipe, but I’d add it to the list for other possible sugar cookie events!

sugar cookies

The original pin can be found here: http://www.tipsfromatypicalmomblog.com/2014/03/bakery-style-thick-sugar-cookies-with.html

